General

Remembering Christina Grimmie

Firstly, if you don’t know who Christina Grimmie is, here’s a link for you to do some background reading. In short, she was a 22 year old super – famous Singer YouTuber who was died in June 2016 rather tragically.

When I first heard about what had happened, I sympathized. But it was only yesterday when I truly realized who she was. She was a girl whom I had listened to on YouTube a few times and liked. I never followed her though and I’m not sure why either. Maybe I was just tired though I love her cover of “Titanium” by David Guetta and “In Christ Alone”.

Grimmie photographed by Austin Hargrave at the 2015 iHeartRadio Music Festival.

A few reasons why I felt particularly bad when I realized it was she who had died and not “some random person”…

  1. She was 4 months older than me.
  2. Although she was the same age, she had her goals figured out. She knew what she wanted to do.
  3. She was already living her dream while I still procrastinate day by day to do the things needed to achieve my goals.
  4. She is an inspiration on moving outside her comfort zone. (A small example: She was a very quiet girl but she put herself in the public eye to do what she loved. Sing.)

But while I may not know exactly what I want to do, I think I know what I don’t want to do. That should count for something right?

I honestly believe that everything happens for a reason; that God is there steering and guiding us all. That every person is here for a purpose and when we’ve fulfilled that goal, God calls us back to His side. But when events like this occur, it takes Faith to trust that though this was awful, God is there in both her Life and in her Death and He, through her memory, will continue to inspire people.

So this is just me penning down some thoughts on a girl who will be from now on, in memory only.

“My goal in my career is to inspire people, is to get my music out there, and have people enjoy it and really think of me as an inspirational artist.”

Christina Grimmie (Mar 12, 1994 – Jun 10, 2016)

Let me know what you think in the Comment Section. Thank you for listening.

Sincerely,
Joanne
Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

