Music

“Love Me Like You Do” by Ellie Goulding

I generally like the songs sung by Ellie Goulding. They’re nice; including “Love Me Like You Do”. As you may know, it was one of the theme songs of the Fifty Shades of Gray Movie.

In my opinion, that’s what ruined the song.

I’m not a fan of the Fifty Shades series. I tried reading the book and didn’t even reach the movie. But the official video of Love Me Like You Do incorporates so many scenes from the movie. Because of this, even though I like the song, every time I watch the video or listen to the song, I’m reminded of the movie. This was probably the aim of the producers – to link the two together – but that is exactly why I feel like the song is ‘ruined’.

I would have liked the song a whole lot better if I wasn’t reminded of the Movie each time I heard it. It’s a really nice song; I’ve heard worse on the radio. So I do feel a little annoyed but I don’t let that stop me from listening to the song. Here is my favourite cover of the song by Tanner Patrick.

What do you think about the song? Do you like it? Do you like the Fifty Shades Series? Does anyone else share the same opinion as me? I’m really curious to know… let me know below.

–Joanne

8 thoughts on ““Love Me Like You Do” by Ellie Goulding

      1. I have not read the books for this movie yet. I have read books for other movies and tend to agree they’re usually better than the movies. I often wonder why some of these movies just don’t follow the actual story of the book. Most of the time it would be so much better if the did. 🙂

        Like

          1. That’s true. They have to fit everything into 2-3 hours, but still the script often strays quite far from the original story. I’ve seen the same thing happen with TV miniseries where they can stick to the book if they wanted to, but change the story in hopes of getting “better” TV ratings. It’s all about business. 🙂

            Like

  1. I agree the song is nice but it doesn’t ruin anything for me as such. True after realizing it was used in the movie people tend to make an association that can be good or bad.
    Heck I didn’t know it was in the movie…
    So just like you who associated something of a dislike to it others may have only remembered or only listened to the song after watching the movie…
    All in all I do like the song irrespective of its ‘assocation’or ‘agenda’… lol…

    Like

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

