Food · NaBloPoMo 2014

The Making Of The Potato Boats

So I finally made the paper boats that I wrote about here.

image

However, I didn’t follow the recipe I got exactly. For one, I don’t have an oven to bake the potatoes although they’d have turned out a little differently.

The main difference between the recipe and what I did was that I boiled the potatoes instead of steaming them. I scooped out the potatoes and cracked an egg in the hollow left behind. A little egg white spilled over the side though so you’ll have to be careful about that. I garnished it with bacon and cheese. I wasn’t able to buy or make sour cream but I’ll try it next time. I did not add any salt because I boiled the potatoes with some salt. Plus the bacon is salty too. It totally took about one and a half hour. It’s a little longer than I would have liked but it was the first time I did something like this so it can be expected. The potatoes took about 2 to 2.5 minutes to cook in the microwave.

image image

The eggs were slightly wet though I would have liked them a little runny. Overall I am glad I tried this recipe. There were a lot of calories obviously but was so soooo tasty! Let me know if you try the recipe. It’s really worth it.

–Joanne

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

