Do It Yourself (DIY) · NaBloPoMo 2014

The Crochet Crowd | Crochet Tutorials

One of my favorite hobbies is crocheting. Now I don’t have an actual teacher or anything. I didn’t go for any classes either. Almost everything I know of crochet has been learnt on YouTube. I’ve also learnt a lot from a friend of mine who has been crocheting for years. She’s sort of my “go to” person whenever I need help with a pattern…

There are so many channels and tutorials on Youtube dedicated to teaching crochet. One of my favorites is The Crochet Crowd (website link) hosted by Mikey. Whenever I need a tutorial, I first check if Mikey has posted one on his Youtube channel Mikey’s Mail. I find his tutorials to be the best because of the simple way in which he teaches. I understand the things he teaches really easily. Another thing I like is that when following a pattern, he displays each row of the pattern at the bottom of the screen for the viewer to follow along.  The Crochet Crowd has also tied up with Red Heart (yarn producer) and uses their yarn and free crochet patterns in his videos.

I don’t remember the first tutorial I watched of his but it was a basic stitch. I think it was the Double Crochet stitch… not too sure though.

I keep finding patterns that look so easy and nice and pretty…. It’s caused a sort of traffic jam in my mind… Every time I decide on a pattern to make, I find another one that makes me change my mind. Thank you Pinterest.

One pattern that I am extremely interested in making for this Winter are Fingerless gloves. I’ve never worn one before but won’t your exposed fingers feel cold?

This is the video tutorial on the his Crochet Crowd Youtube channel. I’ve seen so many other videos but this one remains the easiest. I am definitely going to post here when I start (and finish) this project.

If there’s one thing I’ve learnt with all this procrastination is that if there is a pattern you want to do, just do it. There’s no point holding back and waiting for that one perfect pattern.

Does anyone else out there crochet? What crochet channels do you prefer?

Also, does anyone know what tatting is?

–Joanne

6 thoughts on “The Crochet Crowd | Crochet Tutorials

    1. I have tried making a scarf pattern veggie but my wool ran out…. I prefer to use patterns because I’ll know approx how much wool I’ll need. I love YouTube because videos r a lot easier than written patterns 🙂

      Like

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

