NaBloPoMo 2014

RadioTunes: “Your Daily Music Fix”

RadioTunes is an online radio. They are, like so many websites these days, present both as a website and as an app. I happen to use the app.

RadioTunes

“Your daily music fix” is their tagline and it does make some sense. I don’t use RadioTunes, formerly known as “Sky.fm”, for many things because it is mainly my ‘sleep music’. RadioTunes has a nice variety of radio channels (80+ i think) to choose from. My favourites are:

  • Dreamscapes (Ibiza style music I think)
  • Mellow Jazz
  • Jpop (Japanese pop music)
  • Solo Piano
  • Mostly classical
  • Country
  • Movie Soundtracks
  • Classic Christmas

Solo Piano usually puts me to sleep although in the beginning, smooth jazz was enough. There is a lot of instrumental in the list as I prefer sleeping and studying to instrumental music.

In the past, I used to sometimes fall asleep (accidentally) listening to music on my phone. The music used to continue playing until the playlist ended a few hours later or the battery died. RadioTunes, I am happy to say, has a sleep timer to solve that problem. You can set it to any length of time from 15 to 180 minutes.

The app and website also give a track history of the last four songs that were played. I am unable to link to the individual channels but there is a dropdown menu of everything under the “Channels” menu on top. On the home page, there is also a nice list of genres to help filter your music.

I hope this review (sort of) helped you find one source of music. It’s something that I like so I thought I’d share. I know a review is supposed to state both the good and bad but I haven’t been dissatisfied with the app so I really couldn’t say any negative….

I’ll also write and review about my other sources of online music, excluding YouTube.

–Joanne

One thought on “RadioTunes: “Your Daily Music Fix”

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

