NaBloPoMo 2014

Studying In Advance

Wow. My exams are going on. One piece of advice though – don’t take part in NaBloPoMo at the same time as your tests/exams if you can help it. It’s hard. Thankfully my exams are only at 1330 hours (01:30 pm/afternoon) so I have a little breathing space…

Anyway (I’ve realized that I use that word a lot…anyway…) Today is Friday and surprise surprise… I have actually started studying for Monday’s exam today! Whoa! No, seriously, I usually do not study 3.5 days in advance. It’s usually about 1.5 days in advance…..

I don’t know why but I actually kinda (just a little bit) feel like studying…. but suddenly (always at the worst times) the writing bug bite me and the words are just flowing out of my fingertips!!!

I usually don’t study in advance because I always feel like I will forget what I have learnt… I know that it is an irrational fear but it is what it is (‘fear’ is too big a word (in meaning) but it kind of fits what I feel). On the other hand, I know from experience that if I know a topic well (maybe because I learnt it at the beginning of the semester or because I keep revising it with my friends), I will remember it know matter when the test is! I may not remember it perfectly with all the facts but I will know the gist of it and that helps the studying.

So. It always comes down to how much in advance I study…. It usually ends up about a day (day and a half max) in advance. But I always have a high attendance percentage (I try to keep it 96% and above but I try hard that it’ll never drop below 90%) and I pay attention in class which really helps you know? So again it’s this constant battle between studying in advance and having to redo at least half of it or just do it the day before. (Sigh….)

Anyway, for this particular exam, I think one of the reasons I don’t mind starting studying today is because this paper is one of the easier ones though it could also be classified as hard. The paper name: History of South East Asia.

I actually wanted to do another post with these really cute pictures I clicked (it was the subject that made it cute). Any guesses as to what the subject is? Hint: it has life 😛 I’ll post it on Monday (the day before my exam :p ).

–Joanne

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

