Challenges · NaBloPoMo 2014

The Nature Chills Challenge

When I first heard about this challenge, I thought it was going to be something spooky…. what in nature creeps you out or gives you the chills the most. But it turned out quite differently than I expected!

The Nature Chills Challenge by A Momma’s View is a challenge for you to describe “what in nature makes you chill out the most and why” in less than 150 words. I decided to write about rain and boy, did I almost miss the deadline (I’m writing this with less than an hour left!)

Ok. Here goes. This is why I like the rain.

Rain, Rain, go away

Come again another day

This little rhyme was something I always sung when it started raining. Not because I wanted it to go away, but because I like singing. In fact, I even changed the rhyme to

Rain, Rain, don’t go away

And come another some other day

The sound of rain is one of nature’s greatest gifts. It is one of the most soothing, most awesome sounds ever especially when you’re trying to fall asleep!

I love the rain be it in the form of a thunderstorm (I’m not even scared of thunder/lightning) or a simple shower. I also love how the rain feels on your skin; cool, refreshing and fun. Of course it isn’t too much fun when the wind gives you that other type of chill that makes you sick/bedridden eventually but I think it’s worth it in the end.

There ends my submission for the Challenge. I hope you enjoyed it. I think one of the hardest parts of this challenge was trying to fit all those words within the world limit. But I managed. Somehow…  I also know that I’m also not the only one who feels this way. SimplyRain is a white noise code created to generate the sound the rain! You can adjust the volume, thunder and oscillation (to make the rain get ‘heavier’ and ‘lighter’). If you like the rain, you should check it out. It’s a simple and free way of getting that dose of rain right from the comfort of your bedroom/home.

–Joanne

4 thoughts on “The Nature Chills Challenge

Are you talkin' to me? If not, what are you waiting for?!

